Will a Drunk Driving Charge Change my Car Insurance?
The short answer is Yes!
Pay close attention, I am about to tell you about a topic that most other attorneys will not. That’s because the law isn’t very clear about insurance. Georgia requires that you have an auto insurance policy with a minimum liability coverage, but the state doesn’t outline much else. In Georgia the minimum liability coverage is:
- $25,000 of bodily injury liability for one person in one accident;
- $50,000 bodily injury liability for all persons injured in one accident; and
- $25,000 property damage liability for one accident.
This is just basic coverage that protects other motorists on the road. If you are convicted of a DUI your auto insurance policy will almost certainly be affected.
If you have been charge with a DUI contact me now at (770) 387-4529 for a free consultation!
Almost all insurance companies will cancel a driver’s auto insurance policy if a DUI conviction is reported on their driving record. If the policy is not canceled, the insurance company will probably rewrite the policy and require much higher insurance premiums. The insurance companies classify drivers convicted for DUI as high risk.
Generally, high risk auto insurance policy premiums can range anywhere between $3,600 – $6,000 or more per year. Monthly, that’s $300 – $500. A conviction for DUI will remain on your driving record for 7 years and may impact premiums for that long. 3 years of premiums could cost upwards of $18,000.
So if you add up the true cost of a DUI in Georgia including fines, fees, and insurance premiums we are talking close to $25,000.
The only way to prevent your insurance from skyrocketing is to prevent a conviction for DUI in the first place.
The best way to prevent a conviction is to hire an attorney to represent you.