What Are The Potential Penalties For A DUI Conviction In Georgia?
For a first DUI, the penalties are quite steep. There is a mandatory 24 hours in jail with credit for time served, plus one year of probation. The fines are a minimum of $300 and a maximum of $1,000, but it’s important to understand that the fines are going to have surcharges associated with them. In Georgia, the DUI surcharge sometimes doubles up the cost of the fine. There is a minimum of 40 hours of community service and you’ll have to attend DUI School and a Mothers against Drunk Driving course.
Your driver’s license will be suspended for up to a year. You can request that you be given a limited driving permit. That will usually be granted, as long as it is your first DUI. If you are caught driving outside of the shortest route possible to and from your approved places, that would be a violation of your driving privileges and you would potentially be facing a driving on a suspended license charge. Once your driver’s license is suspended and you’ve served that suspension, there will be at $210 reinstatement fee. In Georgia, for a one year driver’s license suspension, if it’s your first DUI, you’ll actually be eligible to have your driver’s license reinstated after 120 days. For a first offense DUI drugs, your driver’s license will be suspended for a year. You will not be eligible for a limited driving permit and your driver’s license would not be able to be reinstated for 180 days.
If it’s your second DUI offense within 10 years, the sentencing will be 90 days in jail and all but 72 hours of that can be suspended. As long as you don’t get in trouble, you don’t have to worry about that jail time. If you have any violation of probation, however, or if you get another criminal offense, you will have to serve the remainder of those 90 days in jail. There is a minimum fine of $600, which can go up to $1,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for three years. There is a minimum of 240 hours of community service. You will be required to have a drug and alcohol evaluation and follow any of those recommendations. You will have your photo published in a local newspaper and pay a $25 publishing fee. You’ll have to attend DUI School, have the ignition interlock device installed, and pay for the fees to have that installed and maintained. There would also be a $210 license reinstatement fee for your driver’s license to be reinstated.
For a third DUI conviction within the last 10 years, there will be jail time of 120 days. All but 15 days of that can be suspended. There will be a $1,000-$5,000 fine, 240 hours of community service, completion of an alcohol or risk reduction program, a license suspension of up to three years, a $210 license reinstatement fee, and DUI school. Your photo will be published in the local newspaper with a $25 fee, a drug and alcohol evaluation will be required to be completed, as well as the following of any recommendations, and an ignition interlock device will be installed. If it is your third DUI within the last five years, your driver’s license will be suspended for five years and you would be able to qualify for a work permit after the first two years. Any license plate associated with your name will be confiscated by the state. You will be given notice of habitual violator, which means that if you are accused of another DUI, they will charge that as a felony DUI.